How to Remove “Checking your Browser” Scam


Cybercriminals and online fraudsters keep trying new methods to trick users and falls them into the trap. Checking your browser is such a new scam. This scam is used to trick users into subscribing for push notifications. So, the fraudster can send links of pages and earn advertising money.

Such a website display the text as “Checking your browser to access the website click ‘Allow'”. It also shows an arrow button pointing the allow button. Such websites are designed in this way to fool users and take advantage of their less awareness. The allow button that it asks you to click isn’t blocking the website. It is for showing the push notifications.

Checking Your Browser Scam

Websites can send push notifications to users of their new links or posts. But the user had to subscribe for the push notifications by clicking on the allow button. That’s the reason such pages uses these tricks to get as many as subscribers.

They can easily send links to their new pages to several users at the same time. This strategy helps them to get lots of views. The scammers also promote their client’s pages using this strategy. They add new links in their site and then add redirection to their client’s pages.

What Harms can it do?

You might be thinking that what is wrong in receiving the push notifications. Nothing wrong in ordinary cases, but after tricking users to subscribe for push notifications, these websites don’t send notification of good content. Let’s check the possible harms such notifications can do.

  • Display lots of notification and redirects you to other websites which ruin your browsing experience.
  • Can lead to malicious sites that can further infect your PC with severe threats like ransomware, Trojan, keylogger, spyware, rootkits, and even zero-day malware.
  • The adware causing the redirects could track your online activity and report it to its makers. Information like browsing history, search history, IP address, location, hardware, and software is at stake.
  • It eats lots of RAM and processor which make your PC slow to respond.

How to Stop the Pop-up Notifications from the Browser?

Follow the below steps to stop receiving the allow notification request further from the browsers. You can also disable the already allowed websites that are sending you notifications.

Google Chrome

Click on the Menu button and then click on Settings.

Stop Push Notification Request

Scroll down and click on the Advanced button

Stop Notifications Request in Chrome

Now click on Content settings under Privacy and security section.

Stop Notification Request from Chrome 3

Content settings will open now click on Notifications.

Stop Notification Request in Chrome 4

Now slide the toggle button to left so that it comes to Blocked instead of Ask before sending (recommended)

Stop Notification Request in Chrome 5

The websites you have already permitted to display notification will still show it. To stop it, scroll down to Allow section and click on the menu button against sites you want to stop the notification and click on Block.

Block Websites from Sending Push Notification in Chrome

Mozilla Firefox

Click on Menu button and then click on Options

Stop Notification Request in Firefox 1

Now go to the Privacy & Security section and scroll down to the Permissions section and click Settings against Notification.

Stop Notification Request in Firefox 2

Now tick the box of Block new request asking to allow notifications. It will block the new requests.

Stop Notification Request in Firefox 3

To stop the websites, you already given permissions to display notifications click status of the site and choose Block. Now click on Save Changes to save the settings.

Block Websites from Sending Push Notification in Firefox

How to Remove “Checking your browser” Scam from your PC?

The first reason which leads you to such websites that do the notification scam is you have an adware infection that is redirecting you to such sites. To remove this infection follow the below steps.

Step 1- Scan with MalwareFox Antimalware

MalwareFox antimalware is a robust security suite that effectively detects and removes different kinds of malware including adware, browser hijackers, redirects, etc.

Download MalwareFox and install it on your PC.

Once the installation is complete, MalwareFox will update the program and signatures from the database. Let it update everything.

MalwareFox Updating Signature

Once it completes the update, click on Scan.

Scan with MalwareFox 1

Click on Next when the scan gets completed.

Scan with MalwareFox 3

Step 2 – Remove Unwanted Programs from Control Panel

The adware responsible for redirecting you on such scam websites gets to enter in your computer with the help of third-party software. So, you need to remove such software from your computer. Follow the instructions to remove them –

Click on Cortana Search and type Control Panel and click on it from the results.

Remove Unwanted Programs 1

Now click on Uninstall a program under Programs section.

Remove Unwanted Programs 2

You will see the list of all installed programs. Now right click on each unwanted program and click Uninstall. Follow the screen instructions to remove it from your PC.

How to Stay Away from “Checking your browser” Notification Scam?

Once you removed all the infection, it is time to think about not getting in such trouble again. Follow below guidelines to stay away from Checking your browser notification pop-up scam.

  • Do not install free or pirated software from untrusted websites.
  • Do not visit rogue websites that offer malicious products such as torrents, porn, pirated software, etc.
  • Do not click on the links of a spam email.
  • Never click on Allow button unless you want to see the notifications even when your browser is closed.
  • Install an excellent antimalware like MalwareFox to avoid malware infection. Enable its real-time protection so that it can stop such notorious threats from entering in your computer.

Leave a Comment